​​REGISTRATION SERVICES

frequently asked questions

How do I renew or replace a lost driver’s license?
Driver’s license transactions must be handled directly with the DMV. Please call the DMV for additional information, 800-777-0133.


Do I need to make an appointment?

Nope! We welcome walk-ins! We never have any long lines, and most transactions are completed quickly -- usually in less than 15 minutes!


I’ve purchased a vehicle. How do I transfer it into my name?

Most transfer of ownership transactions can be processed in our office direct. We can issue your registration card, stickers and plates (if needed) in less than 15 minutes. 


I haven’t received or I’ve lost my renewal notice. What can I do?
A DMV renewal notice or Renewal Identification Number is not required to renew your registration with us. All you need is your license plate number or full Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) and Identification Card. You can pay your renewal fees in our office.  Click here to get started!

I’ve lost my registration card. How can I get a replacement?
We can issue your replacement card in our office in less than 15 minutes. Simply walk-in to our office. All you need is your license plate number or full Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) and Drivers License or Identification Card. The DMV requires that you must be the registered owner to request replacement card.

My license plate sticker is missing. How can I get a replacement?
We can provide replacement sticker(s) in our office in less than 15 minutes. Simply walk-in to our office. All you need is your license plate number or full Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) and Drivers License or Identification Card. The DMV requires that you must be the registered owner to request replacement stickers.

I’ve lost my original title. How can I get a replacement title?
Simply walk-in to our office! All you need is your license plate number or full Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) and Drivers License or Identification Card. Don't worry about the paperwork, we'll help you with that! Upon processing, you should receive your title within 7-10 days. 

 
One or both of my license plates are missing. How do I replace them?
We can provide replacement plates in our office in less than 15 minutes. Simply walk-in to our office. All you need is your license plate number or full Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) and Drivers License or Identification Card. The DMV requires that you must be the registered owner to request replacement plates. 


I paid the DMV and I have not received my stickers. How long does it usually take?
If you paid your DMV registration renewal fees directly to the DMV, it may take up 4 to 6 weeks. If it has been longer than 6 weeks, you may contact us to order replacement sticker and/or registration card.

I am moving to California. How do I register my vehicle for the first time in California?
Most out-of-state transfer of ownership transactions can be processed in our office direct. We can issue your registration card, stickers and plates in less than 15 minutes. Simply call or walk-in to our office. 

How long do I have before I must notify the DMV of a vehicle purchase?
If you have purchased a vehicle registered in California, you will need to transfer the ownership within 10 days from the date of purchase. Penalties will be assessed if not transferred within 30 days. We can help transfer your vehicle title today without having to go the DMV. Simply call or walk-in to our office. 

My registration is suspended. How do I get the suspension removed?
The DMV will suspend a vehicle registration if proof of insurance is not on filed with the DMV. To remove the suspension, you must provide proof of insurance and pay a reinstatement fee of $14.00. You may email us your ID Card or Declaration Page and pay applicable fees for processing. Upon receipt, we will process and provide confirmation.